The Green Tide: Orc Warboss on Wyvern take flight for the Orcs & Goblins!

funnyorc

Submitted by Iggy Koopa, July 7, 2014 at 9:00 PM.

I had some time the last few days to start working on the next installment of the Orcs and Goblins army of mine. If you recall, there’s 3 tournaments coming up locally that I plan on attending… and while I don’t think I can have my army painted by the first or second ones, I do believe I have a fair shot to be done for the 3rd one in August. I’ve decided to start adding a list of what all is left to complete at the bottom of this page – and with every new post – so that you can see the progress I’ve had so far. After finishing up both Mangler Squigs, I decided to set my sights on my Orc Warboss (name pending!) on Wyvern. Here he is:

wyvern2

wyvern

There was a lot that went into this guy… Starting with the Wyvern – I knew I didn’t want to go with the same old green that is the base color GW chose to paint the model with. I have always tried to make the bigger models in my army stand out since they act as centerpieces to all the other models. The Wyvern was no exception. After looking over some various brown colors I have I decided to go with a basecoat of Graveyard Earth and highlight out until it’s nearly white. I like the look that I was able to achieve and figured that having the Orc Warboss on top in various colors, especially green, would help him to stand out against the lighter brown color.

wyvern5

wyvern3

I chose Bestial Brown for the folds of the Wyvern’s wings and then picked out each of the scales with blue all the way out to Ice Blue. I’m really pleased with how the model turned out and definitely think it’ll help to represent the punch that this guy can pack! And as always, models perform better when they’re painted, right???

wyvern7

The actual Warboss portion of the model is just a bitz bash of several Orc-y things that I had in the bitz box. I always like to think that Orcs show up with all types of crusty, crude armor and weapons and if one breaks then they’ll just swap out for another one. That’s why this guy has a sword, an axe, and a spear on his back. In gaming terms, he’ll be equipped with the spear so I wanted to make sure to include it. It’s an extra from the Savage Orcs sprue.

wyvern6

wyvern8

wyvern4

Lastly, to act as a multi-purpose model, I put a small piece of steel on the Wyverns neck and 3 small rare earth magnets on the bottom of the Warboss. This will help me out when the Wyvern finally falls in combat and the Warboss is left to defend himself. Now, I can simply pull the Warboss off the Wyvern and move him to his ready-made base. I put another piece of steel on the base and left portions where his feet would go, which are hollowed out and house 2 of the magnets. So here you see the Warboss on the Wyvern, and also off… for those times when the Wyvern goes down in battle.

wyvern10

All in all, I’m very pleased with the way this model turned out. I’m liking what he can do on the battlefield so I felt it was time to add some paint to him. Now hopefully he’ll do better with his fresh paint job. There’s more to come, and I believe the Snotling Pump Wagon is next! Here’s a list of what all I’ve completed as well as what all remains to be done.

– Black Orc Warboss on foot

– Black Orc Boss Battle Standard Bearer on foot

– Savage Orc Shaman on foot

Orc Warboss on Wyvern (Complete!)

– 30 Orc Boys w/full command

– 32 Savage Orc Boys w/full command

– 36 Black Orcs w/full command

Snotling Pump Wagon (Next!)

Mangler Squig #1 (Complete!)

Mangler Squig #2 (Complete!)

– Rock Lobba #1

– Rock Lobba #2

– Doom Diver Catapult

As always, thanks for reading and make sure to check back on the Green Tide! They’re starting to come along!

 

4 thoughts on “The Green Tide: Orc Warboss on Wyvern take flight for the Orcs & Goblins!”

Leave a comment